The Board of Directors

is the corporate body with the widest powers for managing the bank, and for producing its financial, organisational and sales strategy to achieve its corporate purpose. Without prejudice to its legal remit, its role is to keep an eye on the long-term future of the organisation by promoting the rapid development of an entrepreneurial leadership while at the same time ensuring the quality of its day-to-day management, the measurement and monitoring of the risks associated with the bank’s activities and regard for the principles of good operational governance as communicated to members of staff and management since 2003. The Board of Directors appoints the Chairman and the members of the Executive Committee.

Chairman

Mazhar RAWJI

Executive Directors

Thierry TAEYMANS, managing director

ŽŽMustafa RAWJI

ŽŽJean-Pierre MUTUALE MUKADI MPAKA

Antoine KIALA

Non Executive Directors

Alain BOUCHER, chairman of the audit committee

Adrien de HEMPTINNE, member of the audit committee

Michel NOTEBAERT, member of the audit committee and credit validation

ŽŽGuy SAUVANET, member of the audit committee and credit validation

The Audit Committee,

chaired by an independent director, reports directly to the Board of Directors. It supports the Board of Directors with regard to oversight and is involved in the following: finalising the accounts, managing and monitoring risks, the system for internal control of compliance, and external and internal auditing activities.

The Executive Committee

is the operational body responsible to the Managing Director plus the five managers who report to him. Its role is to recommend the bank’s major strategic lines of development to the Board of Directors, to implement this strategy in accordance with the options taken by the Board of Directors, to be responsible for the organisation of all day-to-day management activities and to report on them to the Board of Directors on a regular basis.

Several specific committees report to the Executive Committee which, by agreement with the Board of Directors, defines the organisation, the objectives and how they function. Their purpose is to ensure that all services and departments of the bank operate with maximum efficiency, quality and security. These committees meet on a regular basis, each having its own predetermined schedule. The bank has approximately 20 of these committees.

Composition of the Executive Committee

Thierry Taeymans
Thierry TAEYMANS
Managing Director

Thierry Taeymans is a commercial engineer graduated from the St Louis Institute of Commerce in Brussels. His banking experience began in 1982 at the Belgolaise bank in Brussels where he worked in various positions within the credit department. He carries out several missions in Africa and joined in 1994 Zairian Commercial Bank (BCZ today BCDC). Back in Brussels in 1999. In 2001, Mazhar Rawji called him to take part in the creation of RAWBANK of which he became managing director. Vice-president of the Congolese Association of Banks in 2008, Thierry Taeymans is secretary of the Belgian-Congolese Chamber of Commerce and administrator of the Federation of Enterprises of Congo (FEC).

Mustafa Rawji
Mustafa RAWJI
Deputy Managing Director

Born in Kinshasa, Mustafa Rawji graduated from high school in London and earned a master's degree in finance in Boston. He joined the creation of RAWBANK in 2002. Two years later, he took the initiative to acquire an international banking experience and joined HSBC in Dubai, where he worked for 5 years as a sales executive in the Corporate Banking department. In September 2009, he joined RAWBANK as Deputy Secretary General. He chairs the Credit Committee, leads the Marketing & Communication Department and chairs the Quality Committee. At the end of 2013, he was appointed Director of Strategic Development. Since July 2015, he has been appointed Deputy Chief Executive Officer to assist the Chief Executive Officer in overseeing the Bank's support functions.

Nadeem AKHTAR
Risk manager

Nadeem Akhtar holds a Masters degree in Finance & Audit, which he obtained in New Delhi. He has 13 years experience in the banking sector, initially as Credit Officer at an Indian bank in New Delhi. He joined RAWBANK in 2004 as Loans Manager and joined the Executive Committee in 2007 to take on the wider role of Risk Manager.

Christian KAMANZI
Christian KAMANZI
Operations Manager

Christian Kamanzi Muhindo holds a BA in Applied Economics and is an independent auditor; he has a Diploma from FUCAM in Mons (Belgium). His first professional experience was as a junior auditor at DRT-Cabinet Michel Vaes in Brussels (now Deloitte & Touche.) In 1993 he moved to Kinshasa where he was a Treasury assistant at Citibank. In 1996, he became Vice-Chairman at the Banque de Commerce et de Développement in Kinshasa with responsibility for Operations and Sales. He returned to Citibank in 2002 and was appointed Treasury Manager until 2004 when he became General Manager of the Union des Banques Congolaises. He joined RAWBANK in 2007 as a manager and a member of the Executive Committee.

Arvind Kumar
Arvind KUMAR
Chief technology officer

Master PGDCA (Higher Diploma in Computer Applications), Arvind Kumar also studies Computer Science and Engineering in Mumbai. He began his career in 1994 as a computer programmer and then worked as a systems analyst dedicated to banking solutions. A little later, he was appointed team manager at Infrasoft Technology Ltd., a consultant for the Indian Central Bank in the automation of the banking system. With this experience, he was recruited by RAWBANK in 2004. He has been a member of the management committee since March 2012.

Jean-Pierre Mutuale
Jean-Pierre MUTUALE MUKADI MPAKA
Secretary-General
Executive Director

Jean-Pierre Mutuale has a BA in Commerce and Finance from the University of Kinshasa. He joined the Banque Commerciale Zaïroise (BCZ, now BCDC) in 1973 where he held the posts of Branch Manager, Central Administration Departments Manager and Head of Management (Organisation & IT). He has played an active part in the various stages of the establishment of RAWBANK since 2001, becoming a member of the Executive Committee initially responsible for Organisation, IT and Human Resources. He has been Secretary-General since the end of 2009 and in addition since 2012 manager with responsibility for controlling operational risks (internal control).

Balaji
Balaji PRABAKAR
Financial director
Graduated in 1993 from The Institute of Chartered Accountants of India in New Delhi, Balaji PRABAKAR is a chartered accountant and also holds a Bachelor of Commerce degree from the University of Chennai, India. After 8 years of experience in different sectors (construction, audit, consulting, hotel), he comes to the DRC in December 2001 as an accountant of Beltexco. In 2004, he joined RAWBANK as Accounting Assistant. In 2008, he was appointed Controller and, in January 2013, Chief Financial Officer.
Didier Tilman
Didier TILMAN
Commercial Director

Didier Tilman joined RAWBANK in September 2009 after an international career with the Fortis group, among others at Banque Belgolaise. He joined the General Bank (later Fortis Bank) as a university trainee and subsequently carried on commercial activities and assumed responsibilities in the credit department. His professional career led him 3 years in Nigeria, 3 years in Spain and 3 years in Hong Kong. In the meantime he will have satisfied his passion for globe-trotting by traveling the world on foot between 1994 and 1997. International banker, he takes in hand the destinies of the bank in Katanga at the end of 2009 and joined the headquarters of the bank in Kinshasa at the beginning Of 2014.

Antoine Kiala
Antoine KIALA
Treasury Director

Is the holder of a master's degree in business administration from ICHEC/Entreprises Belgium and a degree in commercial and financial science from ISC/Gombe.

He began his banking experience in 1977 at the Banque Commerciale du Congo (BCDC), where he worked successfully in various departments: Clientele, Transactions and Financial Department and the Foreign Exchange Team. In 2001, he actively took part in the creation of RAWBANK in the capacity of Treasury Manager. He underwent training courses and internships on banking, treasury operations and trading, particularly in London, Brussels, Johannesburg, Paris and Kinshasa. In 2016, he became a director and a member of the Executive Committee. Antoine Kiala now has the functions of Deputy Company Secretary and General Treasury Manager.

Standards of Governance

Governance is described in several charters that determine how the Board of Directors and the Executive Committee work.

These standards of governance comply with the instructions of the Central Bank of Congo (instructions 15, 17 and 22) and satisfy internationally recognised banking management criteria.

In terms of the Board of Directors:

  • The memorandum of good governance
  • The charter of the Board of Directors
  • The charter of the Audit Committee

In terms of the Executive Committee:

  • The executive management charter
  • The charter of professional conduct
  • The compliance charter
  • The internal control charter
  • The internal audit charter
  • The social and environmental risk management policy

Internal Control

Internal control is defined by RAWBANK as a consistent, comprehensive system comprising a set of human and technical resources whose objectives are:

  • The security of operations, assets and people,
  • The effectiveness and excellence of services,
  • The observance of legislative and regulatory provisions and of professional and ethical standards and practices,
  • The promotion of a strong culture of control and ethics,
  • The production and distribution of reliable and quickly available information of a high standard,
  • The observance of the objectives, rules and limits set by the management.

There are three levels of internal control.

The first level is immediate, systematic and continuous control. It is intended to ensure the regularity, security and validity of all bank transactions, as well as observance of the measures connected with oversight of the risks associated with these transactions. It is carried out in every area of operations management (cash transactions, transfers, foreign exchange, documentary credit, etc.) and of functional management (human resources, office supplies, accounting, IT, etc.). It is carried out by the person responsible for the transaction and then validated by his line manager.

The second level is systematic post-monitoring of transactions grouped by type, which is of a permanent nature but is undertaken with an appropriate frequency. Its purpose is to check the regularity and compliance of transactions and to monitor certain specific types of risks.

The third level consists of periodic, ad-hoc or unexpected controls carried out by departmental staff and Internal Audit. Internal Audit is also tasked with examining and assessing the effectiveness of the level 1 and 2 control mechanisms, in particular how appropriate they are for the type of risks associated with the transactions.

Compliance

Compliance deals with 7 points in particular:

  1. Incorporating Congolese legislation and international norms concerning the fight against money laundering and the financing of terrorism into the bank’s procedures and instructions ;
  2. Checking requests to open an account and submitting them to the Compliance Committee for a decision ;
  3. Being responsible for ensuring that applications to open an account are in order ;
  4. Monitoring transactions to spot any that are dubious ;
  5. Providing staff training in compliance ;
  6. Checking that directives are observed by bank staff ;
  7. Acting as the focal point for communications by staff about dubious transactions and declaring these to the Central Bank of Congo.

Le conseil d’administration

est l’organe collégial qui dispose des pouvoirs les plus étendus pour la gestion de la banque, l’élaboration de sa stratégie financière, organisationnelle et commerciale, et donc la réalisation de son objet social. Sans préjudice de ses missions légales, il a pour rôle de veiller à la pérennité de l’organisation en favorisant l’essor d’un leadership entrepreneurial tout en s’assurant de la qualité de la gestion journalière, de la mesure et du contrôle des risques liés aux métiers de la banque, ainsi que du respect des principes de bonne gouvernance opérationnelle tels qu’ils ont été communiqués aux membres du personnel et aux cadres de direction dès 2003. Le conseil d’administration nomme le président et les membres du comité de direction.

Président

Mazhar RAWJI

Administrateurs exécutifs

Thierry TAEYMANS, directeur général

Antoine KIALA

Administrateurs non-exécutifs

Alain BOUCHER, président du comité d’audit & membre du comité des risques

Michel NOTEBAERT, membre du comité d’éthique et conformité & membre du comité de nomination et rémunération

Guy SAUVANET, membre du comité d’audit & membre du comité d’éthique et conformité

Adrien de HEMPTINNE,  président du comité d’éthique et conformité & membre du comité de risques 

Mustafa RAWJI, président du comité de nomination & rémunération

Zain RAWJI, membre du comité de nomination et rémunération

Benjamin NZAILU, président du comité de risques & membre du comité d’audit

 

Le comité d’audit

présidé par un administrateur indépendant, rapporte directement au conseil d’administration. Il appuie le conseil d’administration en matière de surveillance et intervient dans les domaines suivants : la finalisation des comptes, la gestion et le contrôle des risques, le système de contrôle interne de la conformité, les activités d’audit externe et interne.

Le comité de direction

est l’organe opérationnel placé sous la responsabilité du Directeur Général entouré de sept directeurs – membres du Comité de Direction. Son rôle est de proposer au conseil d’administration les grandes lignes de la stratégie de la banque, d’exécuter cette stratégie conformément aux options prises par le conseil d’administration et d’assurer l’organisation de toutes les tâches de la gestion journalière, pour ensuite en faire rapport régulier au conseil d’administration.

Des comités spécifiques sont rattachés au comité de direction qui, en accord avec le conseil d’administration, en définit l’organisation, les objectifs et les modalités de fonctionnement. Ils ont pour objectif d’assurer un fonctionnement optimal de tous les services et départements de la banque, dans une démarche de qualité et de sécurité. Ces comités se réunissent régulièrement, chacun selon un rythme préétabli. La banque en compte une vingtaine.

La composition du comité de direction

Thierry Taeymans
Thierry TAEYMANS
Directeur général

Thierry Taeymans est ingénieur commercial diplômé de l’Institut Supérieur de Commerce St Louis à Bruxelles. Son expérience bancaire débute en 1982 à la banque Belgolaise à Bruxelles où il évolue dans diverses fonctions au sein du département des crédits. Il effectue plusieurs missions en Afrique et rejoint en 1994 la Banque Commerciale Zaïroise (BCZ aujourd’hui BCDC). Retour à Bruxelles en 1999. En 2001, Mazhar Rawji l’appelle pour participer à la création de RAWBANK dont il devient administrateur délégué. Vice-président de l’Association congolaise des banques en 2008, Thierry Taeymans est secrétaire de la Chambre de Commerce belgo-congolaise et administrateur de la Fédération des Entreprises du Congo (FEC).

Nadeem AKHTAR
Directeur Général Adjoint Support & Infrastructure

Nadeem Akhtar est titulaire d’une maîtrise en Finance & Contrôle acquise à New

Delhi. Il compte 13 années d’expérience dans le secteur bancaire, dans un premier temps au titre de credit officer d’une banque indienne à New Delhi. Il rejoint RAWBANK en 2004 au titre de responsable Crédits et entre au comité de direction en 2007, dans la fonction élargie de risk manager. Présentement il occupe la fonction de Directeur Général Adjoint Support et Infrastructure.

Christian KAMANZI
Christian KAMANZI
Directeur Général Adjoint – Administration & Risques

Christian Kamanzi Muhindo est titulaire d'une licence en économie appliquée et est un auditeur indépendant. Il est diplômé de FUCAM à Mons (Belgique). Sa première expérience professionnelle a été en tant qu'auditeur junior chez DRT-Cabinet Michel Vaes à Bruxelles (aujourd'hui Deloitte & Touche.) En 1993, il a déménagé à Kinshasa où il était assistant de trésorerie chez Citibank. En 1996, il devient Vice-Président de la Banque de Commerce et de Développement de Kinshasa en charge des Opérations et des Ventes. Il est revenu à la Citibank en 2002 et a été nommé Trésorier jusqu'en 2004, date à laquelle il est devenu Directeur Général de l'Union des Banques Congolaises. Il a rejoint RAWBANK en 2007 en tant que manager et membre du Comité Exécutif, présentement il occupe la fonction du Directeur Général Adjoint d'Administration & Risques.

Arvind Kumar
Arvind KUMAR
Chief technology officer

Master PGDCA (diplôme supérieur en applications informatiques), Arvind Kumar étudie également les Sciences informatiques et l’ingénierie à Mumbai. Il entame sa carrière en 1994 comme programmeur informatique pour évoluer ensuite comme analyste de systèmes dédiés aux solutions bancaires. Un peu plus tard, il est nommé directeur d’équipe chez Infrasoft Technology Ltd., consultant pour la Banque centrale indienne dans le cadre de l’automatisation du système bancaire. Fort de cette expérience, il est recruté par RAWBANK en 2004. Il est membre du comité de direction depuis mars 2012.

Balaji
Balaji PRABAKAR
Directeur financier

Diplômé en 1993 de « The Institute of Chartered Accountants of India » à New Delhi, Balaji PRABAKAR est expert-comptable et possède également un diplôme de « Bachelor of Commerce » de l’université de Chennai en Inde. Après 8 années d’expérience dans différents secteurs (construction, audit, consulting, hôtellerie), il vient en RDC en décembre 2001 comme comptable de Beltexco. En 2004, il rejoint RAWBANK au titre d’adjoint responsable Comptabilité. Il est nommé, en 2008, contrôleur de gestion et, en janvier 2013, directeur financier.

Didier Tilman
Didier TILMAN
Directeur Général Adjoint - Business Development

Didier Tilman rejoint RAWBANK en septembre 2009 après une carrière internationale au sein du groupe Fortis, entre autres à la banque Belgolaise. Entré en 1990 à la Générale de Banque (devenue ensuite Fortis Banque) en tant que stagiaire universitaire, il y exerce ensuite des activités commerciales puis assume des responsabilités au département des crédits. Son parcours professionnel le conduit 3 ans au Nigeria, 3 ans en Espagne et 3 ans à Hong Kong. Entre-temps il aura assouvi sa passion de globe-trotter en parcourant le monde à pieds entre 1994 et 1997. Banquier international, il prend en main les destinées de la banque au Katanga fin 2009 et rejoint le siège de la banque à Kinshasa au début de 2014.

Antoine Kiala
Antoine KIALA
Directeur de la Trésorerie

Est titulaire d’une Maitrise en Administration des Affaires de l’ICHEC/Entreprises/Belgique et d’une licence en Sciences Commerciale et Financière de l’ISC/Gombe.

Il débute son expérience bancaire en 1977 à la Banque Commerciale du Congo (BCDC), où il évolue successivement dans divers départements ; Clientèle, Affaires et Direction Financière, en passant par la Cellule Devises. En 2001, il participe activement à la création de RAWBANK en qualité de Responsable de la trésorerie. Il effectue tour à tour des formations et stages sur la banque, la trésorerie et le trading ; notamment à Londres, Bruxelles, Johannesburg, Paris et Kinshasa. Il devient , en 2016, Administrateur et membre du Comité de Direction. Antoine Kiala y exerce aujourd’hui les fonctions de Secrétaire Général Adjoint et du Directeur de Trésorerie Générale.

Les normes de la gouvernance

La gouvernance est décrite dans plusieurs chartes qui régissent le fonctionnement du conseil d’administration et du comité de direction.

Ces normes de gouvernance sont conformes aux instructions de la Banque Centrale du Congo (instructions 15, 17 et 22) et répondent aux critères de gestion bancaire internationalement reconnus.

Au niveau du conseil d’administration :

  • le mémorandum de bonne gouvernance
  • la charte du conseil d’administration
  • la charte du comité d’audit

Au niveau du comité de direction :

  • la charte du management exécutif,
  • la charte de déontologie,
  • la charte de conformité,
  • la charte du contrôle interne,
  • la charte de l’audit interne,
  • la politique de gestion des risques sociaux et environnementaux.

Le contrôle interne

Le Contrôle interne est défini au sein de RAWBANK comme un système cohérent et global comprenant un ensemble de moyens humains et techniques ayant pour objectifs :

  • la sécurité des opérations, des biens et des personnes,
  • l’efficacité et la qualité des services,
  • le respect des dispositions législatives et réglementaires ainsi que des normes et usages professionnels et déontologiques,
  • la promotion d’une culture forte de contrôle et d’éthique,
  • la production et la diffusion d’une information fiable, de qualité et rapidement disponible,
  • le respect des objectifs, des règles et des limites fixées par la direction.

Le contrôle interne est organisé à trois niveaux.

Le premier niveau est un contrôle immédiat, systématique et permanent. Il vise à garantir la régularité, la sécurité et la validité de toutes les opérations bancaires, ainsi que le respect des mesures liées à la surveillance des risques associés à ces opérations. Il s’exerce dans chaque domaine de la gestion opérationnelle (opération de caisse, virement, change, crédoc…) et de la gestion fonctionnelle (ressources humaines, économat, comptabilité, informatique…). Il est réalisé par l’agent en charge de l’opération validée ensuite par le supérieur hiérarchique.

Le deuxième niveau est un contrôle a posteriori systématique, permanent mais suivant une périodicité adaptée, des opérations regroupées selon leur nature. Il a pour objectif de vérifier la régularité et la conformité des opérations et de suivre certains types particuliers de risques.

Le troisième niveau est constitué de contrôles périodiques, ponctuels ou inopinés effectués par l’encadrement et l’Audit interne. Ce dernier a également pour mission d’examiner et d’évaluer l’efficacité des dispositifs de contrôle de 1er et 2e niveaux et notamment leur adéquation à la nature des risques liés aux opérations.

Compliance

La fonction « Compliance » s’attache à 7 points en particuliers :

  1. Intégrer les règles de la législation congolaise ainsi que les normes internationales sur la lutte contre le blanchiment de capitaux et le financement du terrorisme dans les procédures et instructions de la banque ;
  2. Examiner les demandes d’ouverture de comptes et les soumettre au comité Compliance pour décision ;
  3. S’assurer de la régularisation des dossiers d’ouverture de comptes ;
  4. Surveiller les opérations afin de détecter celles qui sont suspectes ;
  5. Assurer la formation du personnel en matière de compliance ;
  6. Contrôler le respect des directives par le personnel de la banque ;
  7. Centraliser les communications du personnel sur les opérations suspectes et faire les déclarations de soupçon à la Banque Centrale du Congo.